Shortlisted for the UKLA BOOK Award and the Nordic Children’s book Award

Well there is some good news to tell. For the first – my new book – Tímakistan – the Time Casket – has been nominated to the “Nordic Council Children and Young People’s Literature Prize 2014” along with Stína Stórasæng by Lani Yamamoto. This is a new prize that was first granted in 2013. The first winning book was “Karikko” by Seita Vuorela. Tímakistan is also nominated for the West Nordic Children’s book Award.



And some very good news from the UK. The Story of the Blue Planet has been shortlisted for the UKLA Book Award. The UKLA Book Award 2014 is decided for by the 55 teachers from schools in Sussex. UKLA has as its sole object the advancement of education in literacy.

Blue Planet

The shortlists have been divided into three age categories and the 2014 Shortlist is as follows:


Open Very Carefully by Nick Bromley and illustrated by Nicola O’Byrne (Nosy Crow)
Don’t Spill the Milk by Stephen Davies and illustrated by Christopher Corr (Andersen Press)
This is Not My Hat written and illustrated by Jon Klassen (Walker Books)
Monkey Nut written and illustrated by Simon Rickerty (Simon and Schuster)
The Dark  by Lemony Snicket and illustrated by Jon Klassen (Orchard)
How to Hide a Lion written and illustrated by Helen Stephens (Scholastic)


The Terrible Thing That Happened to Barnaby Brocket by John Boyne and illustrated by Oliver Jeffers (Random House Children’s Publishers)
The Naming of Tishkin Silk by Glenda Millard and illustrated by Caroline Magerl (Phoenix Yard Books)
Rooftoppers by Katherine Rundell (Faber and Faber)
Liar and Spy by Rebecca Stead (Andersen Press)
The Last Wild by Piers Torday (Quercus)
The Story of the Blue Planet by Andri Snaer Magnason, illustrated by Áslaug Jónsdótti and translated by Julian Meldon D’Arcy (Pushkin Press)


The Bunker Diary by Kevin Brooks (Puffin)
Maggot Moon by Sally Gardner and illustrated by Julian Crouch (Hot Key Books)
Monkey Wars by Richard Kurti (Walker Books)
The Positively Last Performance by Geraldine McCaughrean (Oxford University Press)
The Wall by William Sutcliffe (Bloomsbury)
Now is the Time for Running by Michael Williams (Random House Children’s Publishers)

The three winners will be announced on July 4th during the 50th UKLA International Conference at the University of Sussex.

Leave a Comment